The Itsy Bitsy Spider

 We’ve had a rash of spiders in our house lately. It seems to happen about this time every year. The weather warms up and then re-turns cold and the spiders seek out the warmth of our house. The other night I had just tucked Munchkin into bed and was trying to convince Bugaboo to go to sleep so I could finally enjoy some peace and quiet.  Munchkin was not having it. Every minute there was another loud request down the hall.

Her – “Can I have some water?”

Me – “Yes there is some in the bottle on your nightstand”
Her – “Can I have a tissue?”

Me – “yes that is on your nightstand too.”

Her – “I need to go to the bathroom.”

Me – So get up and GO.

Her – “Can I read just 5 more minutes”

Me – NO NO NO

Her – “There is a spider on my floor.”

Me – So kill it already!

Uh….wait a minute. DH is at work. That means spider-killing falls under my jurisdiction.  I put Bugaboo down and tell him to stay there. He isn’t having it and insists on following me.  I go down the hall and can’t find the spider. Munchkin is pointing to a spot on the floor and I’m positive it is just a dust bunny. She gets exasperated, grabs the tissue and smushes the spider, which I now see is moving.

Guess she beat me to that one. Why couldn’t she have just done that in the first place?

I take the tissue and she wants to know what I’m going to do with it. I tell her I’m going to flush it.  “But won’t the spider come back to life in the water and crawl up the side of the toilet and bite your butt when you are peeing?” she asks.  I try not to laugh as I reassure her that “no, spiders don’t come back to life.”   Nevertheless, I do check the water before I sit down the next time.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tracie
    Mar 02, 2011 @ 22:35:43

    Haha that is great. I might have to check before I sit down next time just in case (we had a little spider visitor ourselves earlier today!)

    Reply

  2. memoirsofamadonna
    Mar 03, 2011 @ 01:11:45

    This is Awesome…. I always check the next time after I flush a bug too…

    And I just stepped on my first spider of the season here too… Ridiculous…

    Reply

Leave a comment