Clean Desk = Clean Mind

Things have been a bit hectic around here. Although, let’s face it – a full-time job, two children and a house means life is always hectic.  But I did get one thing crossed off my list today.  I cleaned my office desk.  It is rainy and for some reason rain makes me want to clean. Maybe because I don’t want to do anything else.  Well, except sleep. But I can’t very well do that at work. At least not if I want to keep my job.

In my old job at the big law firm, I had a huge office.  Two big desks that sat at an L-shape, three bookshelves, a set of file cabinets, two comfy chairs and a table in between. In this office I have one tiny L-shaped desk, one office chair, two other chairs that have to be moved if you want to open the file cabinet and one set of shelves.  But I have a window – two of them actually, so that makes it do-able.  When the doofus next door retires, I’m next in line for his (big) office.

We’ve also been on a cleaning spree at home. There is a big consignment sale coming to town offering 70% of profits to consignors. So I’m working my tail off to get ready. I have 12 rubbermaid containers of clothes in various sizes to sort, hang, tag and deliver.  I’m aiming to get half done for this sale. 

I wish I could clean up my life as easily as I clean up my office and my house.  I visited the jaw doctor yesterday. A few years ago I had jaw surgery for TMJ.  Specifically I had almost two years of mouth appliances, plus surgery, plus 2 years of braces.  I finished up about 2 1/2 years ago.  These past two weeks I’ve had a lot of pain.  I headed to the doctor prepared to kill someone if things had deteriorated so quickly.  Lucky for me (and the doctor) the bones are all intact and where they are supposed to be. However, my muscles are over-worked. Too much stress says the doctor.  So I now have to have a mouth appliance since I clench my jaw too much.  Apparently anti-depressants can cause muscle clenching. Who knew? 

We did have plans for our tax refund – new windows (how exciting) and some paint in the kitchen. Now I’ll be getting mouth appliances. Woo hoo. (not!)

I have been sucking at the McFatty Monday challenge and need to start smaller and revise my focus.  I’ll figure that out later………How is everyone else doing?

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. lawyerchik1
    Mar 10, 2011 @ 15:44:35

    Looks beautiful! 🙂 I did the same thing on Monday – only I wasn’t feeling too hot, so I stayed home and cleaned.

    (Sorry about the dental stuff – =(!! Hope your tag sale goes well!)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

