On the Road Again – this time with kids

I received a call from my sister over the weekend. She was preparing to undergo emergency surgery to repair a twisted/blocked/knotted intestine.  Five and 1/2 hours later she emerged lighter by 2 1/2 feet of colon, 8 inches of intestine and an appendix! Yikes!  She is on major restrictions – and drugs – for the next several weeks.

When I last talked with her, she proceeded to tell me how the doctors inflated her with gas and were all waiting for her to fart before she could leave the hospital.  Hmmm. This is a situation ripe for jokes! 

Seriously, she is in much pain and prayers are appreciated.

The kiddos and I are headed to her house to help out. I debated flying but didn’t feel so good about the $1,500 price tag, and that was only if I lied about Bugaboo turning 3 this past weekend and claimed he was still 2. I wasn’t so keen on that (and he keeps proudly announcing to everyone “I tree now”).  So we’ll leave bright and early at the ass crack of dawn (5 am) on Wednesday.  I’ve driven the 563 miles before myself, but not with two kids.  I’ve taken care of many kids before, but not 5, related to me, kids at once. 

So I’ll be back in a week, sure to be filled with lots of funny tales about my sister’s drug induced state, my managing (or lack thereof) of 5 children and my BIL, and attempting to “homeschool” my child for 3 days.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DM
    Sep 26, 2011 @ 17:00:09

    that sounded very painful for your sister. Glad you are able to make the trip. that is a lot of miles on the road…watch out for deer… you don’t want to get one before your hubby.

    Reply

  2. mssc54
    Sep 26, 2011 @ 20:16:21

    I trust all goes well with the trip and your sister mends quickly.

    Reply

  3. Cheryl
    Sep 30, 2011 @ 02:24:26

    Wow – ditto to DM’s and MSSC54’s comments. I hope everything goes well and that your sister heals quickly. Good luck with the homeschooling and the child wrangling!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

