When do Little Boys Become Useful Hunters?

  My husband has great dreams of our little boy becoming a great hunter. I hate to tell DH, but I think his efforts thus far have failed. 

This morning went like this –

Me – Ick spider…..hmm I think it is dead.

Bugaboo –  Spider?  I see.  It dead.  Get it mommy.

Me – why don’t you get it?

Bugaboo – I get it? Okay —– leans over………hmmm not dead

Me – it’s dead.  Here I’ll get the fly swatter and you can scoop it up with it.  

 (hands him swatter)

Bugaboo – it NOT DEAD. 

 spider moves.  I shriek  (biggest fear is scooping up a supposedly dead critter and having it be alive and jump on me)

Me – (shrieking) KILL IT

(Bugaboo whacks it many times)

Me – whew.  Good hits.  You killed it now.  Scoop it up

Bugaboo –  no way. You scoop it up Mommy

Me – no way. You’re the boy. You scoop it up

Bugaboo – no way. You the mommy. You the boss. You scoop it up

(I  scoop it up.  holding it away from body I dump it in the trash with Bugaboo hanging on me.)

So he might be a good killer of spiders but he’s lacking on the disposal score.  When do little boys grow up to be useful bug killers to their mommy. That’s supposed to be one of the benefits of having a boy, isn’t it? Someone to kill the critters.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tracie
    Sep 03, 2011 @ 23:38:27

    ha! I’m pretty sure that killing bugs is on the list of reasons boys are awesome.

    I love that he told you “you the boss”. that is hilarious.

    My daughter wouldn’t get near a spider with a ten foot pole.

    Reply

  2. lawyerchik1
    Sep 04, 2011 @ 11:48:51

    Hilarious!! 🙂 I’m not sure about the answer to your question, though. I don’t remember when my brothers started killing things in the house, but they do eventually get good at it.

    Reply

  3. mslanak
    Oct 21, 2011 @ 20:09:47

    I’m still waiting and my boys are 7 and 10. They won’t touch anything inside the house but outside it’s a free for all. Go figure!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

