I’m back — blame it on techno-computer geeks getting the upper hand

Hi my name is LegallyInsaneMommy and I’m addicted to facebook games. You name it and I’ve probably played it. It started with FarmTown and FishWorld. Then it progressed to FarmVille, CafeWorld, SocialCity, WordsWithFriends and Frontierville.  I then created a game account so that my regular account, under my real name, could stay pure.  And to hide the fact that I played games while on boring conference calls from the people on the other end of the phone (who were probably playing games too but had more techo knowledge and knew how to hide that fact).  Game sites are supposed to be blocked from work computers. But when you are on the legal team, you get access to things other people typically do not access.  I learned that by refreshing/rebooting, the internet filters re-set and I could access anything……………..until the server upgrade last week.

I received the message at 4:50 pm, “please be advised that the servers will be down for upgrades tonight.”  I didn’t pay attention until the next morning when I tried to quickly serve my cafeworld dishes before starting work.  “Internet access to the requested website has been denied based on your user profile and organization’s Internet Usage Policy.” Slight panic that I push back down as I reboot.  No such luck.  It has now been over a week and I’m still blocked. Dang – they actually expect me to work around here!  What’s up with that?

So I opened my other favorite site – www.jigzone.com  to find it was blocked too. Dang! I can’t live without that site.  I love puzzles.  It’s my reward for finishing reading boring reports and articles.  Finish one and get to complete the border; finish another and play for 1 minute.  I might do one entire puzzle a day but it gives me a much-needed break.

Not only are games blocked but pandora is too.  I can’t work in silence. The muzak played in the halls is enough to make me stab my eyeballs out with dull pencils.

So that’s why I’m back.  No really, I did miss you. I just felt like my life was boring (obviously since I resorted to mindless fb games).  And the friend I chatted with all day, every work day decided she might (gasp) actually have to log off chat and work sometimes (how dare she! ♥ )

What’s been new since last May?  My oldest finished first grade and just entered second grade. My youngest just moved to the 3 year old class.  All in the same week which is enough to push me over the edge.  We decided life wasn’t chaotic enough, so we adopted a puppy.  DH is still working second shift which means errand-running, homework-helping, bedtime-putting is all on me still.  But it means he is still doing most of the shopping and housecleaning so I don’t complain too much.  Work decided that I was pretty good at trial advocacy so I’m now doing more abuse/neglect court and less child support court.  I enjoy it most of the time.  For the most part, I’m still coping and still insane.  But that’s okay.  It’s not killed me thus far.  In true legal fashion, I’ll insert a disclaimer –

Watch Out Folks, I’m back!  (for now)
2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mssc54
    Aug 29, 2011 @ 16:17:00

    I wondered what happened to you. I enjoy FARKLE too much.

    Wow your youngest is three now?! Doesn’t seem that long ago.

    Our youngest started second grade. Our next to youngest started fourth grade. Our third youngest finished her radiology degree but is now studying some other radiology. Our next to oldest (the one I wrote about a bit on my blog) is pregnant with her second. “Baby Cooper” will be five in November. And our oldest just had their THIRD baby!

    I am soooooo glad you are back. Deer season is just around the corner and I would have missed those posts! 😉

    Reply

  2. lawyerchik1
    Sep 04, 2011 @ 11:55:18

    I had to laugh a little at this!! 🙂 I had to resort to putting a radio/cd player in my office – not because “Pandora” is blocked, but … no speakers. Welcome back!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

