Ch-Ch-Ch Changes

  I learned last week that there are changes on the horizon for me.  Due to personality clashes between a particular attorney and a certain judge, my work is being adjusted. Because this attorney and judge combination has resulted in the agency losing cases and children being returned to potentially unsafe environments, the  idiots-at-the-top powers-that-be-in-charge decided to throw me to the wolves move me into that caseload. The Chief Idiot Judge doesn’t want to deal with the issues of this particular judge. Even though he saw fit to remove this judge from one court rotation, he blames the problems in our court on the attorney. The attorney blames the judge and the high-ups here choose to accept this story because this particular attorney is from money a good name/family.

So what does that mean for the one on the bottom of the totem pole  me?  It means I am being pulled out of child support court (which I love) all but one week, and moved into juvenile court.  I AM PISSED %&*(@#^% IRATE MAD NOT HAPPY.

I love my current schedule.  I currently get up at the ass-crack of dawn really early so that I can get to work at 7:15.  That means even with a 1/2 hour lunch, I can leave at 4:45 every day and be off at lunch on Fridays.  Leaving that 15 minutes before 5 saves me from killing the idiots commuters on the road 45 minutes in driving time.  Plus I love being off at lunch on Fridays.  With my new schedule, I’ll have court 2-3 days a week. Court hours are 8 – 5 pm because I have to do what the judge says (who doesn’t care that day care charges $1 a minute if you are late).  It is asinine idiotic to drive to work at 7:15 only to turn around and leave for court in 30 minutes.  But do I want to have to work later?  What about the fact that my entire summer schedule had already been planned?  What about the fact that my calendar is already color coordinated with which court I am assigned too (yes I’m anal!). 

Then there are the bigger issues — I’m not confident in child welfare court yet. What if I lose a case and a kid gets sent back home to a dangerous place?  What about the fact that I promised the child support agents I was not looking to move into juvenile court and leave them? What about the fact that I love child support court.

The Big Cheeses  bosses tell me that this is only a 6 month change and that I can go back to what I love in October. This is just a chance to prove that the problem is the attorney (in which case they’ll talk about firing him but probably will not) or the judge (in which case we’ll beg to transfer him out of court but nothing will happen).  My concern is that I’m the new hire and if this dude likes child support court (which he will) and wants to stay (which he will) then will this really be a temporary solution?

I hate change.  I am a control freak. I become completely unglued when my calendar gets messed up. Now I have to run to Walmart to buy a new monthly calendar and set of markers. I wonder if they make 100 color markers? I’ll need that many shades to keep up with my new responsibilities.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lawyerchik1
    Apr 11, 2011 @ 10:57:56

    Ouch. I’m sorry you have to go through this!! It sucks that being competent and productive in an area tends to mean that you get the really crappy stuff that no one else wants to deal with. I hope it works out that you can still leave in time to get to daycare.

    (And at the risk of saying the wrong thing, maybe you are getting this assignment because there is a child who really needs someone to make sure that he/she doesn’t fall through the cracks and when that child is safe, you will be done….)

    Reply

  2. Nicole
    Sep 13, 2011 @ 22:38:14

    Wow. That’s a lot of changes and things to worry about. I hope it’s been going alright at least.
    Hey, it’s almost October.
    I enjoyed this post – it made me laugh (the crossed out sentences).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

