Homework Hell

 Mondays are homework hell nights. Well, any homework that is not so easy she can do it sleeping, is homework hell.  Munchkin is smart.  Too smart for her own good. She is bored easy. But homework is homework and she needs to do it.  Sure most of the spelling words are easy and she could spell them last year. But, her handwriting is atrocious and she needs work on her punctuation. So the concept of using her spelling words in a sentence has some merit. Yet she fights me tooth and nail every single week. 

“Why do I have to do this, Mommy?  I already know how to spell these words.”

You have to do it because the teacher said so.  And because I said so. And because you need to practice your writing.  You need to learn to capitalize where capitalization is necessary.  Now do it.

Whine whine whine. Followed by a break where she goes to her room until she can come out without whining. Followed by more whining. Followed by more breaks. Followed by me explaining to her that she IS going to do her homework and that it is a matter of WHEN. She can do it now and go play, or sit there, whine and procrastinate and go straight from homework to bed.  Then she ask what happens if she sits there until it is her bedtime and still hasn’t done her homework. I explain she’ll go to bed, wake up and do her homework then. She wants to know what if she doesn’t finish before school. I tell her I will ask the teacher to keep her in for recess and she will LOSE EVERY PRIVILEGE UNDER THE SUN SO DO THE DAMN HOMEWORK ALREADY.

She says she can’t think of a sentence.  This is my creative child who endlessly invents stories in her head.  I offer some suggestions. She hates them. She wants to write sentences that I will not allow her to write.  For example – the word is “toe” and she wants to write “Daddy has fungus on his toe.”  Which, while it used to be true (since treated), is not something the teacher needs to know.  The next word is “loud” and she wants to write “When Mommy farts, it is loud.”  Again, maybe true (after some beans) but not something you can write for homework. 

Last night’s words were enjoy, avoid, royal, noise and annoy.  I thought she should write “I do not enjoy the noise of having my child avoid homework in every way designed to annoy me and causing her to act like a royal pain in the butt.”  What do you think?

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mssc54
    Feb 15, 2011 @ 11:49:47

    Our little first grader is quite the opposite of his sister (who excells academically). He too has to write sentences with his spelling words. I try to make a game out of it by using as many spelling words in one sentence as possi9ble. I write the sentences for him and he copies them. Since the goal is for him to practice his writing and too learn his spelling words it is well worth the little time it takes me to do it.

    When you get right down to it and it comes to a power struggle I have to remind him; “Good behavior = Good consequences – Bad behavior = Bad consequences.” Every once in a long while I have to ask him if he likes his classmates and does he want to go to the second grade with them next year. How would you feel if you had to go to first grade next year with the kids in kindergarten?

    I just hate homework. We work on it for an hour and a half to two hours every single night! Seriously.

    Reply

  2. lawyerchik1
    Feb 15, 2011 @ 11:54:39

    I like the creative use of the vocabulary words. And MSSC54 has good ideas. Having been a whiny “I hate homework” type myself, though, I wish you luck in this power struggle. Go, Mom!! 🙂

    Reply

  3. Legally Insane Mommy
    Feb 15, 2011 @ 13:40:29

    The teacher has stated that we must use each word in a separate sentence. Which made my fun game of using as many as possible in one sentence null and void.

    We already “cheat” on the 20 minutes of reading every night. The child reads 4 grade levels above already. She reads 2-3 entire books (chapter books) per week. I’m not going to force the 20 minutes reading aloud every night and torture us even further.

    Reply

    • mssc54
      Feb 15, 2011 @ 16:01:56

      That is one of my BIGGEST “concerns” about public school teachers, as a whole. They have one way to do things regardless of the students’ achievement level or interest levels. Sure they have special classes for the over achievers or the not so achievers but typically they do not allow for any individuality at all.

      It takes waaaaaay more creativity to make sentences with more than one spelling work than a single word in a sentence.

      We count our kids time they read any time they read. It doesn’t have to be a designated/appointed “homework” reading thing. If they read, they read and get credit for it on their reading logs. 😉

      Reply

  4. Tracie
    Feb 15, 2011 @ 23:36:07

    I think your sentence was great!

    Also, it is harder to come up with one sentence that correctly uses several words spelling worlds than it is to come up with separate sentences for each one.

    I am currently working on handwriting and spelling with my daughter (she reads like yours does, but her spelling does not match her reading ability-ugh) and she acts like having to write things is torture.

    Reply

  5. mssc54
    Feb 17, 2011 @ 16:40:45

    AND ANOTHER THING!

    Twice a week our little first grader has to: “Write 3 sentences using inventive spelling”

    In other words, write the sentences phonetically (not using proper spelling).

    So we have been working on learning his spelling words for the test on Fridsy. Today they had their pre-test. He spelled “world” as “werld”. I think he should get credit for following the training provided twice a week.

    Sigh.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

