Kids are Gross

 I thought I was a pro at handling the gross stuff. I survived explosive diapers. I survived going to work in a nicely dry-cleaned suit only to discover spit up all over my back.  I have changed pantyhose 3 times in a single morning due to clingy fingernails from children.  I have cleaned up after the stomach flu, once while simultaneously suffering from morning sickness.  I should be able to survive anything right?

Wrong. 

I was absolutely complete grossed out the other night.  Munchkin had a cold.  I cleaned out the vaporizer, added water, poured in the Vicks.  I laid soft tissues by her bed. I tucked her in. Smoothed the covers down and told her good night. I leaned down to kiss her – on the forehead since she was sick.  As I got close to her face, she opened up her mouth and sneezed. RIGHT IN MY FACE.

Blech. Ick. Yuck.  I immediately went and shovelled hot water on my face. Soap.  Brushed my teeth.  Mouthwash. Where was the bleach. Oh my ever lovin’ grossness. I “ate” someone else’s sneeze.   

I don’t think I’ll ever recover. 

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mssc54
    Feb 09, 2011 @ 09:06:39

    … and went back in to give night-night kises, a big hug.

    A mommy’s job isn’t for the feint of heart! lol

    Reply

  2. Legally Insane Mommy
    Feb 09, 2011 @ 10:23:37

    LOL. Actually she and I both laughed hilariously after it was all over and had to tell Daddy all about it the next morning. And the next night (last night) when I went into kiss her goodnight, she pretended to do it again.

    Reply

  3. lawyerchik1
    Feb 09, 2011 @ 16:20:32

    Gotta love kids…. 🙂

    Reply

  4. Ethereal Highway
    Feb 10, 2011 @ 00:10:23

    Ick. Once I was playing with my son holding him up in the air above me and we were both laughing our heads off. And then he barfed and it landed right in my big laughing mouth.

    Reply

  5. Tracie
    Feb 13, 2011 @ 00:35:24

    Oh my gosh. SO gross!! lol

    Reply

Leave a Reply

