Recovering….

I survived Munchkins birthday party and first sleepover. The girls were even asleep before 11 pm. Both Friday and Saturday night I slept from 11 pm until 6:30/7 the next morning. I also napped 2 hours on Saturday and 3 hours on Sunday. That should have been my first clue.  Monday I felt sluggish. No amount of coffee made me perk up.  I also received an email from our office manager that pink eye, strep throat, the flu, a stomach virus and a cold were running rampant around the office.

Tuesday I woke up to my alarm and knew I was going nowhere. I was achy, with cold and flu symptoms. My head was killing me. My limbs felt as if each weighed 500 lbs.  I decided to stay in bed and the next thing I knew it was 11 am.  I got up briefly and took another nap.  Sleeping that many hours in a row cemented my belief that I was sick.

Wednesday wasn’t all that much better. I headed to the doctor to find out I had a flu-like virus – not the flu.  The doctor says there is a virus, lasting 5-7 days, that is like the flu, but not the flu.  Lucky me…..I’m feeling some better now. Still tired though.

Husband went to work as usual. So except for getting a friend to bring Munchkin home after church, I still had to pick up both children, run them to activities, cook, bathe, help with homework and all the other mommy duties. No rest for the weary.

So now the wait begins……will Munchkin get it? Bugaboo? Husband?  Husband is the only one who did not get the flu shot so he’s most susceptible to that.  Strep and the flu are going around Bugaboo’s daycare so he’s definitely exposed. Half of Munchkin’s school is out.  So odds are this is only going to get worse before it gets better.

If Husband gets sick, you’ll see a post from me seeking a safe haven.  Sick men are no fun. My husband being sick is a recipe for disaster. He will become convinced he is dying, lock himself in his room and refuse to come out for fear of exposing anyone.  Fun times, for sure!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Tracie
    Feb 03, 2011 @ 23:00:21

    Sick men are definitely no fun.

    I hope you feel better tonight and that all your little ones and husband stay well!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

