McFatty Monday on Wednesday

Blair’s blog post made me jump off the precipice I’ve been standing on, pull of the blinders and go swimming. In a bathing suit, no less.  What that means is that I’m going to be fully honest about my weight journey.  And I’m starting with a picture.

That’s me this past October. We went to a farm which had a big square trough filled with corn. The kids loved jumping in it. It is similar to one of those plastic ball pits.  Of course they insisted I join in the fun, which I did. Let me tell you that trying to stay upright in a tub filled with 4 feet of corn is impossible.  Great picture, huh?  I love (insert sarcasm) the angle DH captured.  I have since replaced that flesh colored tank top worn to preserve my modesty with one of a more bright color – so that it will actually look modest and not like I’m exploding from my top.

So that is me. All 199 pounds.  Actually at that point I was probably over 200 but I was in scale denial.

Before I had my daughter I tried Weight Watchers for the first time. I lost over 30 pounds and got down to 127.  At 5’8″ I thought I was hot. Looking at pictures I was too skinny.  After getting pregnant and gaining over 60 pounds, I hit WW again. I got down to 135 and couldn’t stay there.  After entering the Depression Era and being on every medication known to man (and some experimental ones) I gained all that weight back. I was just starting to address the problem when I got pregnant again. I did better on the weight gain but started out heavier.  I manged to lose the weight yet again and gain it back a fourth (or is it fifth?) time. 

So here I am, two years past delivery date and as heavy as I was pregnant. Time to do something.  I want to get healthier. I want to lose weight. I want to fit in my clothes again. I want to be able to play with my kids without getting out of breath.

I joined WW again.  It works for me. Well it did, until the changed the program.  Note to WW – I’m a control freak. I hate change.  Changing the program made me mad and messed me up.  I had lost 10.4 pounds.  Over Christmas I gained some back. I skipped weigh-in this week because I knew it would be bad after all the snow days last week. Snow days = eat days.

So here I am wondering what approach to take and I stumble on Blair’s post. I’ve seen the McFatty Monday posts on her blog and some others. I admire their honesty. Frankly I’m downright jealous at how good Blair looks considering we’re about the same weight. Isn’t it funny how our perception of others is so different from our perception of ourselves? 

So here I am laying it all out here.  I’m trying to eat better and I hope you’ll hold me accountable. My goal isn’t a number, although I’d love to be in the 140s. I’d be happy to fit in my size 12s and ecstatic to fit in a 10 again. I gave away all those size 8s.  After two babies my hips will never again fit in those.  I’d like to shop in the regular section of the store again and not “Misses” or “plus.”  I’d like to walk a mile and maybe even run a mile without dying.  I’d like to play with my kids and still have energy to do the things I need to get done.

Now if one year from now I still look like that picture above, I may very well have to move into a feeding trough for real.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DM
    Jan 20, 2011 @ 17:17:05

    I’d also encourage you to shoot my eldest an e-mail if you’re looking for some additional encouragement….I’m not 100% sure how she’s done it, but when I saw her over Christmas she’d lost over 35 pounds and looked great. I’m thinking both she and daughter #2 were both around 200 @ their high point. Good luck. I know I have much more energy after I dropped 35 pounds this past year.

    Reply

  2. Kim
    Jan 22, 2011 @ 22:10:39

    We’re in this together!!

    Reply

  3. Blair@HeirtoBlair
    Jan 23, 2011 @ 21:31:33

    First of all, that picture is awesome. & what is more awesome is that you put it up there because that’s the kind of thing I would totally do 🙂

    oh, & depression weight. I actually lose weight while depressed but the meds? It’s like, BOOM! have ten pounds. BOOM! add another five. oy.

    You can totally do this 🙂

    Reply

  4. Ethereal Highway
    Jan 24, 2011 @ 04:27:46

    Sometimes being very busy causes people to grab unhealthy food on the fly and it makes it difficult to reach health goals that are related to good nutrition. I have recently re-discovered my crock pot. It’s so easy. You could just dump the food in there on your way to work and come home to a healthy dinner. I guess any short cut you can think up that could help you eat more food that is prepared at home might help you. When I have had extra time (long weekends and such or even just catching ‘the cooking bug’ for a couple of days), one thing I have relied upon is making homemade soups, stews and spaghetti sauce in huge pots and then freezing them in large freezer bags so that each bag is enough for one meal (don’t forget to write the date on the bags so you know what to polish off first). Another thing is making my own pancake mix. Mix the dry ingredients and store it in an airtight container. Then add the egg and milk when you make the pancakes just as you would with a store-bought mix. Kids love the occasional pancake supper. Add a glass of milk and a piece of fruit and that is not a bad meal for a kid. And for moms and dads who are trying to watch things, it sure beats a drive-thru. The day after I go grocery shopping, I make a giant bowl of salad and it lasts the whole week. The key is to tear the lettuce instead of cutting it. That, or buying prepared lettuce. Then I chop all the yummy veggies and toss the whole thing up with the juice of a lemon because it is a natural preservative and if your fridge is set at the right temp, it will be good for many days. I even make my own salad dressing (sort of). I buy those packets of Good Seasons salad dressing mix and use red wine vinegar or apple cider vinegar and use extra virgin olive oil. It is SO much better for us than the gross oils in the store-bought bottles of dressing. I wish you the best. You deserve good nutrition. It really is something that people have to strive for because of what our modern lifestyle is like. It’s hard sometimes, but small changes add up.

    Reply

  5. Legally Insane Mommy
    Jan 26, 2011 @ 08:57:29

    I didn’t know the lemon trick. I had heard of it to keep apples from turning brown but didn’t think of it with salads. Thanks for that information!

    Reply

  6. brittany220
    Feb 09, 2011 @ 14:47:28

    Good luck with your goal! It sounds like you are on the right track. 🙂
    I set a personal improvement goal myself this year, only it’s on shyness. I started a blog about it last month (http://theshynessproject.wordpress.com/) and I hope you check it out sometime! DM recommended that I check out your blog and meet you, and I enjoy reading your posts!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

