All Done

Spilled Milk’s blog post brought to mind the differences I realized over the Christmas vacation.  Normally Husband gets up and gets the kids off to school/daycare and I get up and leave for work. He does the grocery shopping and most of the house cleaning. I come home, help with homework, fix dinner, clean up, do the baths and bedtime routines.  On weekends, he takes over bath and bed and I do a heavy cleaning. It works pretty well for us.

Over the holidays, Husband was off the entire week after Christmas and I didn’t go into the office for nearly 10 days.  We had lots of time together and a major necessity to clean, what with all the house guests we were anticipating. Throw in wrapping paper, new toys and sugar-crazy kids and you’ve got a Grade A Messy Situation.  The process toward a solution went like this –

Me – Okay we need to clean the house and go grocery shopping before all the relatives descend. What do you want to do?

DH – I’ll go to the grocery store. Just let me know when you have the list ready.

Me – making the list is part of shopping.

DH – but I don’t know what you want to fix.

Me – you have to plan the meals.

DH – oh.  Well, you go shopping.  I’ll clean.  But I need help straightening first.

Me – straightening is part of cleaning. Besides I did it yesterday. What happened?

DH – the kids and I were home all day yesterday. Snow day, remember?

Me – yes, but why didn’t they clean up one toy before getting out another.

DH – I didn’t make them.

Me – okay.  I’ll help straighten.  (insert 1 hour break while I straighten and make the grocery list)  (insert a 2 hour break while I go to the grocery store which requires one trip inside the store to get the non-grocery toilet paper, shampoo type stuff and another, 2-buggy trip to get food for our family and the additional 6 people.  Totalling $346.00).

DH – good gosh. How much stuff did you get? How much did you spend?

Me – just help me put it away.  How’s the house cleaning?

DH – it’s done.

D  O   N   E

Done?  In my mind, done means done.  Complete. Finished. Nothing else to do.  I look around.  I had helped with straightening by moving every item into it’s proper room. It is all still there in a pile. The clothes are not put in the closet.  Laundry is in the washer but the clothes thrown on the floor are not picked up.  The sheets aren’t changed. New sheets aren’t on the beds. Towels aren’t laid out.  Dishes are laid in the sink “to soak” as if the act of scrubbing them is too hard.  Throw blankets are — well, thrown – not folded over the couch.  The house has been dusted but don’t dare pick up anything because it hasn’t been dusted underneath.  Trash cans were emptied but new bags weren’t put back in the cans.  Some laundry is done but it is in the hamper and not folded or put away.

Done?

DH says, “yeah it’s done.”

Amazing how a four letter word can have such opposite meanings.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kim
    Jan 04, 2011 @ 08:46:48

    What? That’s not clean? Sheesh, you’re a nitpicker. ;oP

    Reply

  2. mssc54
    Jan 04, 2011 @ 09:05:52

    It has taken me years to get my wife to lower her expectations. But over those same years I have raised mine.

    Reply

  3. risingrainbow
    Jan 04, 2011 @ 13:11:20

    My husband does “done” much the same as yours. I don’t even want to tell you how many years we’ve been at this but suffice it to say I’m lucky he does what he does. LOL

    Reply

  4. lawyerchik1
    Jan 04, 2011 @ 17:01:09

    At least DH helps with some things….. Tanner helps with exactly nothing!! Good thing he’s so darned cute! 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

