I Hereby Grant you a “Do-Over”

I left work right on time today, super excited because we had absolutely nothing on the agenda.  For once, I had remembered to pull the meat out of the freezer to defrost. Dinner plans were set. It wasn’t even bath night.  Nothing but homework and some fun.

All of that changed when I pulled into my daughter’s school.

“Mommy. Can we go to Chik-fil-a?  It is school spirit night tonight.”

Funny I don’t remember seeing that on the calendar. But I could have missed it.  I debate going in my head, but decide against it. For one, the thought of a quiet evening at home is so super enticing. And secondly, traffic is absolutely horrid.  So I respond, “not tonight, honey.  I already have dinner planned and was thinking we’d have some extra time to just hang out. Doesn’t that sound fun?”

“NO. I want to go to Chik-fil-a.”

“I’m sorry honey but not tonight.”

She throws herself into her car seat with a big huff and puff. Kicks the back of the seat in front of her and slams back into her seat.

Climbing into my seat, I pause to take a deep breath.  In and out.  In and out. Count to 10.  Do it again.

Back into traffic. Attempting to change the subject, I ask Munchkin, “Would you like me to turn on the new CD we bought?”  Being the super nice and wonderful Mommy that I am, I purchased the Kidz Bop Christmas CD she wanted.  I must admit it is not all that horrible (although if you repeat that, I’ll deny it).

Grr I hear from the back seat.  Huff puff. Slam. Sigh.

I shrug and turn up my station.

“I SAID I wanted to hear MY CD.”

“Excuse me?” I respond with that head swivel and no-you-did-not-just-say-that death stare that Mommys learn to perfect.

And she fell for it. She repeated herself.

I reminded Munchkin of how we ask for things and respond in our family.  Those involve “please” and “thank you.”

She didn’t like my reminder.  Apparently I’m a “meaner” and the “worst mommy ever.”  She started to whine and cry and fuss and yell “You don’t love me. You think I’m a stupid head. You think I’m a ……….(big breath)………darn it.”

I committed the mommy-sin………..I laughed.  Sorry. But a “darn it”  Seriously?  She thought that was a bad word.  I was in tears.

When we got home, she opened the door, threw herself down on the concrete and then cried, “It’s cold.”  I laughed harder.  She ran into her room.

I let her sit awhile and then felt bad for laughing at her. I despise being laughed at when I’m  mad.  So I went in and offered her a “do over.”

She asked, “What’s a do over?”  I explained that it was  a second opportunity to do the afternoon.  I sat down next to her and pretended to drive the car, complete with bouncing up and down and pretending to steer.  I nudge her and she catches on.

“Mommy can we go to Chik-fil-a?”

“Not today honey. I’m sorry.”

“Okay.  Can we listen to my CD?”

“Sure honey.”

She grins and gives me a hug.  “Mommy you aren’t really a meaner.  And I love you. Always and forever.”

I think she loves do-overs.  Sometimes they are a good thing.  Now if only they worked in my line of work….

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. misssrobin
    Dec 07, 2010 @ 01:37:17

    I could sure use a few do-overs myself. Where can I pick one of those up?

    Reply

  2. lawyerchik1
    Dec 07, 2010 @ 09:18:18

    That is so sweet….. Makin’ me cry already!! 🙂 Kids are wonderful! [BTW – one of my former co-workers had a little girl who thought up the very WORST possible thing to call her big sister: “You…..you FACE!” 🙂 We STILL say that in our house!!]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

