The Sounds of the Season

These are the sounds of the season – any season – at my house –

You need to clean your room. No I am not doing it for you. Yes I know your brother plays in there too. You play in his room as well. No you can not clean his room. I will clean his room. He is 2, you are not. Clean your own room. Yes I might help you if you ask nicely. No I will not clean your room myself while you sit there. Stop whining and clean your room. Put your dirty clothes in the hamper. No you can not have a hamper in your room. I don’t care if Sylvia has a glitter hamper in her room. You do not.

Go brush your teeth. Yes you have to floss too. No you can your brother can not have a spitting contest. No you can not switch toothbrushes. Yes you have to brush for 2 minutes. Yes that is singing Happy Birthday two times in a row. Yes you can sing Mary had a Little Lamb instead.  I don’t care what you sing – just brush your teeth.

Get your pajamas on. I don’t know where your pink pajamas are. Where did you last see them? On the floor? Are those the ones I told you to put in the hamper? They are dirty. No you can not wear those. Pick another pair. It is not my fault they are not clean. Yes I do laundry. Clothes do not get washed unless they are in the hamper. Now that they are in the hamper, they will get washed. No not tonight. Wear the other pajamas. I know they are not your favorite. Wear them anyway.

Get in bed. Yes you can give your brother a kiss. One kiss. Do not hold him down to kiss him. Stop that right now. You do not need to give him a million kisses. Yes I will give you a kiss and a hug. Yes you can have a kiss and a hug. Yes we can say our prayers. 

Yes you can read. One chapter. Until the middle number on the clock says “3.”  Three I said. No not four. No not five. Three I said. No not six. The middle number can’t say six. It only goes up to five.  Why? Because it does.  Just read until three.  Stop arguing. Okay two. Read until two. No now you can’t have three. You can have two. Would you like to go to one?

Good night. Yes I still love you. Yes even when you don’t mind. Now go to sleep.  No I can’t sleep with you. No I can’t lie down with you. I have grown up stuff to do. Yes like pay bills. Now go to bed. Yes I know your brother stays up a bit later. I know he gets rocked to sleep. He is 2. You got rocked to sleep when you were 2. And he naps.  You don’t nap.  Now go to sleep.

Good night.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lawyerchik1
    Dec 01, 2010 @ 12:26:15

    This SO reminds me of that song on YouTube – the mommy’s song!! 🙂

    Hang in there!

    Reply

  2. misssrobin
    Dec 01, 2010 @ 21:11:01

    Wow. What a trip down memory lane.

    FYI, the song doesn’t end when they are teenagers — you just move on to another verse.

    Reply

  3. Kim
    Dec 02, 2010 @ 15:09:53

    Yeah, that pretty much sounds familiar! :o)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

