What was I thinking?

Sunday night as I was catching up on facebook, I caught a post from my old college roommate. “Old” as in “former” – not “old” as in ages. Because of course we are the same age, and I am nowhere near old.  Anyway, I noticed she was driving from her state to the eastern side of my state, and therefore would pass right by my house.  Hotel? Why should she stop at a hotel?  She can stay with me.  Before I can stop myself, I dash out an invitation and hit “send.”

The invitation is accepted and only then do I realize that we leave for Thanksgiving on Wednesday.  This means I must do everything I normally do in five working days and condense it into three.  I also must volunteer at Munchkin’s school Thanksgiving lunch.  Bugaboo is transitioning from the toddler to the 2 year old class at daycare which means much longer drop-offs and pick-ups as we get used to a new routine. Munchkin got a dancing role in the church Christmas play.  My assigned week of court is, of course, the Monday after we return from vacation meaning I need to prepare now. 

But hey, I’m game for throwing in an added, unexpected houseguest.  Especially one who doesn’t mind sleeping on the bottom of a twin bunk bed. Well, actually she can have the top if she wants.  She didn’t used to mind bunk beds back thirteen years ago when we were sharing a dormitory room.  Hopefully she hasn’t lost her willingness to share a bathroom either.  Or lost the ability to ignore the general uncleanliness around her.  Because, let’s face it. There is no way my house is getting a whole overhaul between 5:30 when I get home and 9:30 when she arrives.  At least it will be dark when she arrives.  That will hid the dead flowers in my flowerbed.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mssc54
    Nov 22, 2010 @ 18:35:35

    You impulsive twentysomething year old you! lol

    I’ll bet when she is there and you guys get to sit and talk about your college days you won’t feel the least bit frazzled.

    Reply

  2. DM
    Nov 22, 2010 @ 18:52:47

    I concure w/ Mssc54 🙂

    Reply

  3. lawyerchik1
    Nov 23, 2010 @ 01:26:50

    Nothing like adrenaline! Hope you have a great time! 🙂

    Reply

  4. misssrobin
    Nov 23, 2010 @ 03:03:06

    I’ve done that. Thrown out an invitation and then watched it sail away after I realized I didn’t really want to do it. Why isn’t there a rewind button for my mouth?

    Fingers crossed for you. Enjoy your friend and worry less about stuff.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

