In-House Counsel

In-House counsel typically refers to an attorney who works for a corporation as the attorney for that particular business.  In my case, I am the attorney for my Family.  The pay is non-existent and I haven’t found may rewards yet, but I keep trudging along.  Mostly because I haven’t found any other alternative.  Dealing with clients at work is nothing compared to the demanding clients that live in my house.  Their dispute goes something like this –

Munchkin – “Mommy, he took my doll. I want it back.”  She says this as she comes scooting down the hall on a John Deere tractor-toy that is several sizes too small. 

Bugaboo – chasing after his sister and yelling, “Mine” while wildly swinging the doll overhead.  “Mine, mine, mine”

Construing his claim as one of conversion, I ask Munchkin what it is she thinks he wants.  She replies, “his tractor.  But I want my doll.”

“What makes you think you’re entitled to the doll?” I ask her.

“Because it is mine and he didn’t ask,” she says, continuing to glide along on the tractor.

“Well, did you ask to use his tractor?” I question her.

“No. But he has my doll,” she says as if it makes all the difference.

The mediator side of me peeks out. “How about a trade? You give him the tractor and he’ll give you the doll.”

“He won’t do that. He wants both,” she insists.  She’s probably right but I can assist in the transfer of possession.

I walk (okay hobble – see previous posts) over and remove the doll from Bugaboo and hold it out to Munchkin insisting she get off the tractor to take it.  Bugaboo lunges for the tractor, hops on, snatches the doll back and zooms down the hall.  Munchkin goes after him, snatches the doll and looks at me, saying “repossession.”

Hmm. Either she’s been watching a bit too much of  “Operation Repo” or I’ve got a little lawyer in the making. Either way, this dispute is solved and my work here today is done.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lawyerchik1
    Nov 11, 2010 @ 15:57:35

    Interesting to see the dynamics at work even in children’s interactions!! 🙂 (I swear, I have clients that act just like that…..”Mine! Mine! Mine!”)

    Reply

  2. DM
    Nov 15, 2010 @ 19:54:39

    I’m betting you have the makings of another lawyer in the family on your hands, which is really kind of neat if you think about it…she’ll force you to stay in top form as a lawyer and you don’t even have to pay her.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

