The Little Voices Inside my Head

There are these little voices inside my head fighting a vicious battle to escape.  I’m usually pretty good about keeping them subdued but sometimes they overpower me and out they come.

My mouth says, “It is time to brush your teeth.”

My head says, “Go brush your teeth already. You know it is bedtime. How many stinkin’ times do I have to remind you. I swear I’m going to let the dentist drill your teeth without anesthesia next time if you don’t start brushing.”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

My mouth says, “Yes, I slipped on some juice that my son threw on the floor.”

My head says, “Shut up. What do you know about disciplining children? Look at your brats running all over. Of course I disciplined him. But he’s two.  What do you expect?”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

My mouth says, “sorry honey I haven’t gotten everything picked up today.”

My head says, “See! Now you see what I do every evening. Look at what this house looks like after one day of me being on crutches and not picking up after everyone. And you’re the worst. Clean up after yourself.”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

My mouth says, “he’s going through a bit of a clingy mommy phase” and “it’s so cute she wants to snuggle all night with me.”

My head says, “If I can’t get one free second from a child touching me I am going to scream.”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thankfully I am able to be those voices into submission most of the time. Although last night I did slip up and say, “you want some juice? Fine have some juice. Mommy wants juice too – only I want mine with vodka in it.”

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mssc54
    Nov 10, 2010 @ 09:56:42

    Great self restraint! At times I have to go back to our children and confess that daddy should not have yelled like that. I’m sorry, you didn’t deserve that, I will try not to do that again. I love you. You are very important to me.

    Reply

  2. lawyerchik1
    Nov 10, 2010 @ 10:58:09

    Every day – different voices, but every day….. 🙂 Hang in there. It’s almost Friday.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

